Skip to main content

School and Community Services

School and Community Services is a division of Mt. Diablo Unified School District's Student Services Department. School and Community Services develops and maintains partnerships with public and private agencies in order to improve the lives of young people and increase their success in school.  We exist to positively impact underserved communities and special populations by removing barriers to academic and social/emotional well-being through empowerment, advocacy, and compassion.

The following programs and services are part of the School and Community Services Division of Student Services:​

Commercially Sexually Exploited Children and Youth (CSEC)

Foster Youth Services (FYS)

Homeless Outreach Program for Education (HOPE)

LGTBQIA/Gender Identity Services

Social Work Internship Program

Suicide Prevention Resources

Wellness Centers

CONTACT US

Fax: (925) 566-6692

James Wogan, LCSW

Assistant Director 

woganj@mdusd.org ext. 3054

Office Staff:

 Vicky Conerly 

 Senior Secretary

 Evelyn Mercado

 School-Family Resource Worker

 

conerlyv@mdusd.org

 

mercadoe@mdusd.org

 

ext. 3054

 

ext. 3096

Social Work Specialists:

Monie Bohnsack, LCSW 

Chris Carlay, MSW

Elise Mejia, MSW

Charisse Segee, MSW, PPSC

 

 

bohnsackm@mdusd.org

carlayc@mdusd.org

mejiae@mdusd.org

segeec@mdusd.org

 

ext. 3088

ext. 3477

ext. 3656

ext. 3054

Counselor:

Kim Hendrick

hendrickk@mdusd.org

School and Community Services’ primary role is to reduce barriers to educational success and create positive learning environments for vulnerable student populations, playing a key role in managing and developing social-emotional/behavioral Tier 3 interventions district-wide.  The SCS School Social Workers work collaboratively across MDUSD departments, school sites, and community agencies to assist and advise District personnel to support student and families facing significant psychosocial stressors that impact student wellness and learning, as well as to administer the MDUSD's Diablo Community Center at Mt. Diablo High School, Ygnacio Valley High School Wellness Center, Homeless Outreach Program for Education (HOPE), Foster Youth Services (FYS), CSEC response, and the MSW Internship Program.

COVID-19 Donations

We are incredibly thankful to our generous community donors!
If you are interested in donating to our programs, our ongoing needs include:

  • Open-and-eat food items (i.e. granola bars, Cup Noodle, applesauces, water bottles, chips)
  • New clothing (including sweatshirts and sweatpants, bras and underwear)
  • Toiletry items (including hotel soaps and shampoos, toothbrushes and toothpaste, deodorant, tampons)